Awards‎ > ‎

Freshman of the Year

The Shawn Roberts Freshman of the Year Award
This award started in 2005, and back years were rewarded at the banquet that year too. The award was started to reward the best freshmen on the Centerville Cross Country team. With over 125 men on the roster the freshmen are sometimes pushed to the back and forgotten at the banquet and post-season awards banquet because it is extremely rare that a freshmen helps Centerville in the post-season tournament. When in 2005 Shawn Roberts made a mark on the team the award started to reward the great accomplishments of the freshmen class (or as Coach Somerlot calls them 'froggies'). 
In 2009, the award will forever be named after one of the greatest distance runners in Centerville history- Shawn Roberts.
2017 Justin Davidson PR of 17:43 at Paul Short (#25 Freshman) 
2016 Jeremy Davidson 16:57 PR @ GWOC (#8 Freshman); 7 times under 17:20 
2014 Andrew Craig 17:03 PR at GWOC - Centerville 
2013 Jack Ciesla 18:18.36 PR at GWOC - Sidney 
2012 Kevin Cross 17:09 PR; 1st place in SNL 9th/10th grade race 
2011 Jimmy Barton 16:43.92 PR at GWOC - Fairborn 
2010 Mitchell Deshurko 17:40 PR 
2009 Josh Steible 16:55 PR; 1st Team All District 
2008 Colin Franks 17:08 PR 
2007 Domenic Fish 17:29 PR 
2006 Kevin Aldrich 17:49 PR 
2005 Shawn Roberts 16:49; 16:03 at St. Xavier's short course 
2004 Kurt DeRussy 17:19 PR 
2003 Taylor Knapp 17:40 PR 
Showing 14 items from page Freshman of the Year List sorted by Year. View more »